Hostgator review 2020

9.3Expert Score

Reliability
9.4
Pricing
9.3
User-friendly
9.1
Features
9.0
support
9.2
PROS
  • Reliable hosting
  • 45 days money back
  • Free domain
  • Free SSL and site migration
  • 99.99% Uptime
CONS
  • Renewal charges are high
  • No Phone support

hostgator_logo

Hostgator is one of the most popular web hosting company. It was founded in 2002 by Brent Oxley. It is the oldest web hosting provider and providing wonderful services.

We are checking the uptime of Hostgator and its average uptime of last 1 year is 99.99% which is very impressive.

When you buy hosting from Hostgator you will unlimited storage, unlimited bandwidth, free SSL certificate and a free domain for 1 year. On Hostgator, you will get 1 click WordPress installation. They are also having the best customer support and you can do live chat 24/7 with them and they are expert and solve your problem in a few seconds.

If you are having a new website then you can start with their shared plans and if you are a big company then you can buy their business plans or cloud hosting. its plans start with $2.75/mo. You will get free SSL certificate, free domain with all the plans

Unfortunately, Hostgator will charge you for extra features like backup and fro security. And when we check the speed it is good but sometimes it becomes slow and their renewal charges are also high for next year.

We test Hostgator with different tools like Pingdom, Gtxmatrics,  and Bitcatcha and showing you all the result in this Hostgator review.

Hostgator hosting overview

Hostgator Hosting Overview
CategoriesResult
Up-time99.99% in last 12 months
Speed1253 ms avarage speed in 12 months
Website BuilderEasy to use but expensive
Customer SupportLive Chat and Submit ticket
FeaturesFree SSL and site migration
BackupLimited Backup
Money back30 Days
Free Domain With all the plans exect 2 initial shared hosting plans
Server locationProvo, Utah and Houston, Texas
Hosting Plansshared hosting, wordpress hosting, vps hosting, dedicated hosting and reseller hosting.
PricePlan start with $2.75/mo

Hostgator hosting overview

hostgator speed test

Response time of Hostgator hosting

While choosing a web hosting you should always consider response time of hosting. it is the time which a hosting company take to respond to a query by website audience. Faster the response time faster will be the website.

So it is very important to choose a fast response hosting company. We check the response time of Hostgator with the help of Bitcatcha. It is a free tool which shows the response time of hosting. in this, you add your website and it will show the response time of that website.

If your website is hosted on Hostgator and you check on Bitcatcha, it will show the response time of Hostgator. Here you can see in this image that the response time of Hostgator is very good and some places its response time is below 5 ms.

response time of hostgator

Hostgator hosting speed test

We are testing Hostgator speed from last 2 years and we find that it is very fast and reliable. We will show you the results which we perform on Hostgator. We did our test on top 2-speed testing websites Pingdom and GT matrix.

Both of the websites shows that Hostgator is performing well. Website speed is the most important factor for ranking a website. Google has announced it that it is ranking fast websites on top. If your website is loading time is more then 3 sec then your website is slow.

We host a website on Hostgator and then check the speed. now first check the speed on Pingdom, here you can see that website is loading so fast. Its loading time is around 1 sec which is very fast.

pingdom test of hostgator

Now we check the speed on Gtmatrix, here also you can see that website is load below 3 sec. here you can see that Hostgator is going a great job and from our side, we would give them a big thumbs up.

gtxmatrix test of hostgator

Hostgator uptime test

Uptime of Hostgator is 100% in our last month test. Here you can see the result in the image. Uptime is the most important factor for your website ranking and performance.

Uptime test shows that how much time your website remains upon the internet. Down mean your website was unable to open at that time or it was taking more time in loading.  Uptime is most important for your website ranking. If your website remains up without any interruption, it gives a positive impact to the search engines.

Here you can see the result, we are showing the result and you can see that there is no downtime. Our website was uptime in the last 24 hours, last 7 days and last 30 days. It is showing that our website uptime was 100%.

Hostinger last 12 months average uptime:

  • May 2020 average uptime: 100%
  • April 2020 average uptime: 99.98%
  • March 2020 average uptime: 100%
  • February 2020 average uptime: 99.98%
  • January 2020 average uptime: 100%
  • December 2019 average uptime: 99.99%
  • November 2019 average uptime: 99.98%
  • October 2019 average uptime: 99.91%
  • September 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • August 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • July 2019 average uptime: 99.99%
  • June 2019 average uptime: 99.87%
  • May 2019 average uptime: 100%

If you want to get 60% discount on Hostgator hosting then sign up with the link below and you will get this amazing deal.

Hostgator reviews by our Experts

hostgator review by expret

According to our expert, Hostgator is one of the oldest and reliable web hosting company. Here you can buy hosting at a cheap price and start your online business. it will give you a free domain with your hosting and it would save some money for you. Because if you buy a domain it would cost your around $10. Here you will get good speed at a cheap price.

Our expert review a hosting by doing several tests on hosting. these test includes a speed test, uptime test, response test, customer care support, and features coming with the hosting. here you can see our experts review on Hostgator.

Reliable– Hostgator is one of the oldest and most reliable web hosting company. You can defiantly believe in it.  They are more than 18 years old company and still, they are improving to serve their customers. Their customer support is very fast and always tries to help you as soon as possible.

Price– Price is one of the most important facts for most people. Normally people start blogging at the age of 18 to 20. For a student buying an expensive hosting is always a concern. Prices of Hostgator are normal and start at $2.75/mo. Here you get very good speed and support is also good.

User-friendly– it is also very important to choose a user-friendly web hosting company. Hostgator provide you with a very simple dashboard where you can operate all the things very easily. It is very important a hosting company dashboard should be simple and all the things should appear clear.

Features– Hostgator provide you with all the important features which are essential for a website. here you will get a free domain, SSL certificate and website migration. but you have to pay for some other features like a backup of your website. if your website has malware attack and you want to scan your website, at that time also HostGator would charge yours.

Support– Hostgator provide you with one of the best customer support. here you will get 24/7 and 365 days support. you can contact customer executive round the clock and ask for your problem. You can also submit a ticket on Hostgator user dashboard and tell them your problem. But the best way is to do a live chat with them and your questions are answers in seconds. And most of the time they solve your problems in seconds.

Our experts have described each and everything and now it depends on you to buy Hostgator or not.

Pros and cons of Hostgator

pros and cons of hostgator

When we choose a hosting, we should always see the positives and negatives of that hosting. every hosting have some good points and bad points. Here we are describing all the pros and cons of Hostgator and according to these, our experts give the rating to the hosting companies.

PROS:
  • Reliable hosting- it one of the oldest web hosting and guarantee an uptime of 99.99%. It also refunds 1-month credit to their customer account if they face any downtime.
  • 45 days money back- Hostgator is giving 45 days money-back guarantee, if you don’t like their service then you can ask for the refund within 45 days which is a great thing.
  • Free domain- you will get a free domain for 1 year when you buy any hosting from Hostgator. This is a very good thing for a new blogger, here he doesn’t have to spend money on a domain.
  • Free SSL and site migration- here you will get a free SSL certificate and free site migration. migrating a website is very difficult and tension work. But HostGator does it free for you.
  • Flexible bill-paying- there are many ways of paying your hosting bill. You can pay monthly, half-yearly, yearly and longer which is a good thing.
  • Userfriendly for a newbie- Hostgator dashboard is very simple and it is very easy to manage it. You can easily perform all the things and if you face any problem then you can contact customer care.
  • Good support- Hostgator provides you with the best customer support. You can contact them if you face any problem. Their executives are very polite and corporative.
  • Best uptime 99.99%- Hostgator give its customer that they provide you 99.99% uptime.
  • 1 click WordPress installation

CONS:
  • Renewable charges are high- for the first year prices are fine but for the next year, they seem expensive.
  • Pay for backup- Hostgator doesn’t provide a free backup of your website, for that you have to pay.
  • Get a full discount on 36 months plans- it is showing a 60% discount. But you will get this discount if you buy it for 36 months.
  • No phone support- Here you don’t get phone support for the customer.

Hostgator hosting plans

Hostgator provide all types of plans. You can buy shared hosting, WordPress hosting, VPS hosting, dedicated hosting, email hosting. you can also buy a website builder and register a domain from here.

If you are a new blogger and want to start your online journey then you can start with shared hosting and it would cost you $2.75/mo. If you are having a big company or a big e-commerce website then you can buy their dedicated servers.

You will get a free domain with all your plans and you will also get 45 days money back guarantee, which means that you can ask for a refund if you don’t like their service.

Now we talk about its plans

Shared hosting

Hatchling plan– in this plan you can host single domain and this plan cost you $2.75/mo. Here you will get unmetered bandwidth and unlimited storage. You will also get a free domain and SSL certificate. They will also migrate your website free of cost.

Baby plan– the price of this plan is $3.95/mo and you can host an unlimited website on it. Here you will get 1 click WordPress installation. In this plan, you will get unlimited storage and bandwidth. You will get a free domain and SSL with the hosting. and also free site migration.

Business plan– the cost of this plan is $5.95/mo and you can host unlimited websites here. You will get all the features of the above plan but in addition, you will get free dedicated IP and SEO tool, which can help in your website SEO.

hostgator shared hosting plans

WordPress hosting plans

Starter plan– the price of this plan is $5.95/mo and here you can host 1 website. this hosting plan is suitable for up to 100k  traffic. here you will get 1 GB of backup. You will also get a free SSL certificate and domain. You will get 2.5X faster load time which increase your website performance.

Standard plan– in this plan you can host 2 websites and it would cost you $7.95/mo. It is suitable for 200k traffic and you will get unlimited storage and bandwidth. Here you will get free SSL and free domain. It will give you 2 free migrations.

Business plan– Here you can host 3 websites and it would cost you $9.95/mo.  It can handle traffic up to 500k monthly traffic. here you will get 3 GB backup. In this plan, you will get a free SSL certificate and domain and 3 site migration.

hostgator wordpress plans

VPS hosting

Snappy 2000 plan– this is the first plan of VPS hosting. this plan cost you $19.95/mo. In this plan, you will get 2 cores CPU with 2 GB RAM and 120 GB of storage. Here you will get unmetered bandwidth. And 2 dedicated IPs.

Snappy 4000– the price of this plan is $29.95/mo, in this plan, you will get 4 GB RAM with 2 Cores CPU and 165 GB of storage. Here you will get 2 IPs.

Snappy 8000 plan– this plan cost you $39.95/mo and this plan you will get 4 cores CPU  with 8 GB  of RAM and 240 GB of storage, here you will get unmetered bandwidth and 2 dedicated IPs.

Dedicated hosting

Value server– in this plan, you will get a server which will cost you $89.98/mo. Here you will get 4 core CPU with 8 GB RAM and 1 TB HDD. Here you will get unmetered bandwidth.

Power server– the price of this server is $119.89/mo, and here you will get 8 core CPU with 16 GB of RAM and 2 TB HDD or 512 GB SSD. Here you will get unmetered bandwidth.

Enterprise server– it is the most expensive server on Hostgator, it would cost you $139.99/mo. Here you will get 8 core CPU with 30 GB RAM and 1 TB SSD storage and unmetered bandwidth. If you are having a website with traffic in million then you can go with this plan.

hostgator dedicated hosting plan

Reseller hosting

Aluminum Plan– the price of this plan is $19.95/mo, here you will get 60 GB of storage and 600 GB of bandwidth.  In this plan, you can host unlimited numbers of website and free SSL certificates for those websites.

Copper plan– This plan would cost you $24.945/mo and in this plan, you will get 90 GB of storage and 900 GB of bandwidth. Here you will get unlimited domain host and free SSL certificates.

Silver plan– In this plan, you will get a 58% discount and you will get this plan is $24.95/mo. In this plan, you will get 140 Gb of storage and 1400 GB of bandwidth. Here you can upload unlimited domains and get free SSL certificates.

reseller hosting plans of hostgator

Hostgator website builder

It is the first step to start your business. Hostgator drag and drop website builder is designed to create any time of the website.

You can create a website a website with just drag and drop. It is very easy to use it and you can design any type of website very easily. You can create a business website or an eCommerce with it. Its price starts at $3.84/mo.

But we suggest you, not to buy this website builder. You can easily create a website on WordPress without any cost.

You can also register the domain from Hostgator. You can easily find a unique and best domain from you with its filter.

Features of Hostgator hosting

features of hostgator

  1. Free domain- you will get a free domain on all the plans except 2 initial plans of shared hosting.
  2. Free SSL and site migration- you will get a free SSL certificate with hosting and you will also get free site migration.
  3. 45 days money-back guarantee- Hostgator provide a 45 days money-back guarantee, which means you can also for a refund if you don’t like the hosting.
  4. 99.99% uptime- it gives you a 99.99% uptime guarantee and if you feel any downtime then Hostgator will refund your 1-month bill.
  5. Cheap price- HostGator is one of the oldest and reputed web hosting company, but here prices are very cheap you can start with just $2.75/mo.

Hostgator customer support

It provides you with one of the best customer support in the hosting industry. All the customer executive are expert in technical knowledge and tries to solve your problem as soon as possible.

You can contact Hostgator, customer, via live chat and by submitting a ticket from HostGator user dashboard. You can contact them 24/7 and they are very helpful. Minor problems are easily solved on live chat but if you have any big problem then you can submit a ticket and with 1 to 2 hours your problem would be solved.

hostgator cusotmer support

Their customer care executives are very corporative and polite and give you an answer in seconds. If you are in hosting business then your customer support should be fast and good. If you don’t have a good customer support team then it is very hard to survive in this competition.

Is Hostgator worth its cost? (Hostgator review 2020)

According to our expert, you buy Hostgator hosting. If you are a new blogger then you can start with their lowest plan. We have described all the features of Hostgator. In this review, we describe all the pros and cons of Hostgator hosting.

Now it’s on you to buy it or not. You can also buy other web hosting like Fastcomet and Hostinger. If you want to read about Fastcomet then you can read the full review by clicking on Fastcomet hosting review. Or if you want fast hosting like cloud hosting then you can buy hosting from Cloudways.

If you want to read more about Cloudways then you can read its review by clicking on Cloudways hosting review. It is the best-managed cloud hosting company. It provides hosting of world top 5 cloud hosting providers like Digital Ocean, AWS, Google Cloud, Vultr, Linode. Cloudways is most recommended by our experts.

FAQ related to Hostgator

What are hosting plans on Hostgator?

At Hostgator, you can buy shared hosting, WordPress hosting, VPS hosting, dedicated hosting and reseller hosting.

From how much I can start with Hostgator?

If you are a new blogger then you can start with a shared plan, which will cost you $2.95/mo.

What are the modes of talking with Hostgator executives?

You can contact them via live chat or submitting a support ticket or also contact them via phone.

Is their dedicated plan for WordPress websites?

Yes, you can host your WordPress website very easily with a single click from Hostgator dashboard.

Will I get a free domain with the hosting?

Yes, you will get a free domain with all the plans except 2 initial plans of shared hosting.

What are the payments methods Hostgator accept?

You can pay for hosting with your credit card, you can also pay with PayPal.

Where are Hostgator server located?

Hostgator servers are located on Provo, Utah and Houston, Texas.

Do I get back-up of my website?

Yes, you will get free backup with all the plans of Hostgator, but there are some limits.

Do Hostgator provide Cloud hosting?

No, you will not get cloud service on Hostgator.

What are the features I get in Hostgator hosting?

You will get all important features absolutely free like free site migration, free SSL certificate, free domain, CDN service and free backup. All these features are available with all the plans free of cost.

Conclusion (Hostgator review 2020)

🏆According to us, Hostgator is one of the most popular web hosting providers. In this article, we have given a complete review of Hostgator hosting.

Now it totally depends on you to buy it or not. You can read this full review and make your design. Every hosting have some good and bad points. We have described all the and bad points now it’s on you to buy it or not.

Hostgator hosting coupons

All the 99hostingadvice user will get a 60% discount on all their hosting plan, just signup from the link below and grab the deal for you.

1 review for Hostgator

5.0 out of 5
1
0
0
0
0
Write a review
Show all Most Helpful Highest Rating Lowest Rating
  1. Alejandro Pineda

    I lodged a request for assistance as my websites were stuck in a redirect loop and I could not access them. Within minutes all three website were fixed. Unbelievable service!

    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this

    Add a review

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Expert Score 9.3
    Reliability
    9.4
    Pricing
    9.3
    User Friendly
    9.1
    Features
    9.0
    Support
    9.2
    PROS:
    • Reliable hosting
    • 45 days money back
    • Free domain
    • Free SSL and site migration
    • 99.99% Uptime
    CONS:
    • Renewal charges are high
    • No Phone support
    99Hostingadvice
    Logo
    Compare items
    • Total (0)
    Compare
    0